The Southern

Originally known as FAA Southern Federal Credit Union, the Credit Union was conceived and chartered in 1963 by a small group of employees of the Federal Aviation Administration, who were employed in the FAA’s southern region. Located at the FAA Regional Office in East Point, Georgia, the Credit Union served only the employees of the FAA southern region and their immediate families.


The Operations Center of the Credit Union was relocated to Morrow, Georgia in 1986 from the FAA Regional Office in College Park, and then again in 1992 – this time to its current headquarters located in Fayetteville, Georgia. Today The Southern Credit Union has grown to serve over 400 employer groups, with full-service branches located in Newnan, Jonesboro, Fayetteville, Griffin, LaGrange, McDonough and Peachtree City, Georgia.

In 2014 The Southern Federal Credit Union changed its charter from a Federal Charter to a State Charter and became The Southern Credit Union. Now all residents of Butts, Coweta, Fayette, Henry, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike,Spalding, Troup and Upson Counties can now join The Southern. Meeting the needs of our members is our primary concern. As our memberships grows so does The Southern Credit Union.

Membership Composition:

Until 1985, the Credit Union served only FAA employees and their immediate family members. In 1985, the Credit Union’s Board of Directors approved the association of Chick-fil-A into the Credit Union’s charter, establishing a precedent that has allowed the Credit Union to grow and to serve over 400 employer groups. The Credit Union currently serves Coweta, Fayette and Henry Counties and such companies and associations as Chick-fil-a, Mobis, Yamaha,  City of Griffin, Coweta County and Spalding County employees, National Weather Service, and the Federal Bureau of Prisons – Southeastern Region.