Why The Southern?

Building Financial Success One Member at a Time

The Southern Credit Union is a federally insured, not-for-profit financial cooperative and is the largest credit union based in Fayette County, Georgia. Profits are returned to the members in the form of higher dividend rates on savings, lower rates on loans, and in some cases, low or no fees on various services and products. The Southern is owned by its members and governed by a member-elected board of directors.

Range of Services:

  • Competitive pricing, especially when compared against those service offerings of other institutions in our market.
  • Several types of deposit accounts, wide variety of consumer loans, a complete line of mortgage-related loan products, ATMs, online and mobile banking.
  • Each branch offers all the amenities expected of a full-service financial institution.
  • The NCUA insures each member account up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund (NCUSIF), with additional insurance coverage for IRA accounts.
  • Employer packages are available to enhance their employee benefits by offering credit union services at no additional cost to the organization.
  • Personal service and support. We serve our members with pride, experience, professionalism and personal attention.
Since 1963, we have taken the necessary measures to learn the needs of our members and provide them with the financial tools they need.

Become a Member


Originally known as FAA Southern Federal Credit Union, the Credit Union was conceived and chartered in 1963 by a small group of employees of the Federal Aviation Administration, who were employed in the FAA’s southern region. Located at the FAA Regional Office in East Point, Georgia, the Credit Union served only the employees of the FAA southern region and their immediate families.

The Corporate Office of the Credit Union was relocated to Morrow, Georgia in 1986 from the FAA Regional Office in College Park, and then again in 1992 – this time to its current headquarters located in Fayetteville, Georgia. In 2013 The Southern Federal Credit Union changed its charter from a Federal Charter to a State Charter, dropping the ‘Federal’, becoming The Southern Credit Union.

Membership Composition:

Until 1985, the Credit Union served only FAA employees and their immediate family members. In 1985, the Credit Union’s Board of Directors approved the association of Chick-fil-A into the Credit Union’s charter, establishing a precedent that has allowed the Credit Union to grow and to serve more than 500 employer groups. 

The Southern Credit Union has continued to expand its charter and serves any individual living or working in the counties of Butts, Clayton, Coweta, Fayette, Fulton, Henry, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Troup and Upson, with eight public access branches located in Coweta, Clayton, Fayette, Henry, Spalding and Troup counties in Georgia.

View a complete list of our businesses and associations we serve.